Waiting…

Ever think about the word “wait”?

You know the one…the word that is used to teach us to relax and learn to have some patience? Like the prophet Isaiah says “But they that WAIT …. shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint” (Isa. 40:31). Yep, that’s the word WAIT.

Does it mean you can curl up in that comfy overstuffed chair and do nothing, expecting something to happen?  I wonder…

I know that in Ecclesiastes 3:1 says that there is a time and a place for everything, so I suppose there is a time for that too.

When I first began this battle with Melanoma I used to pray and  beg  night and day.  I would then find myself “waiting” and “waiting”. I am not a  patient person and my need seemed so simple and immediate-just  heal me! I had no time to “wait”!

One day I was reading Isaiah 40 again and experienced the “Ah Ha” moment! I found that the scriptures weren’t telling me to chill out or to rest on my butt; I was suppose to WAIT on Him…to SERVE HIM as if He were a diner at the Roadside Inn. In helping others  was really serving Him.

I found myself running on empty at times; the needs of others over shadowed my own. Their needs seemed far greater than my own. We shared many of the same problems and were fighting the same battles . I could help them yet I had to WAIT!  Didn’t seem quite fair.

Where and when comest my help????

Many times I asked myself why I get so involved with people when  I can’t even help myself.

Then one day I realized by waiting on others, HE was waiting on me! All the answers and solutions I found for other people were in fact the same answers and solutions I needed for myself!

I am blessed. I am ‘healed’. I am stage 4 with no evidence of disease.  And now that scripture makes oh so much sense when it says they who wait on Him shall renew their strength. They shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.

Leave a Reply

